Home > Blogtober, Kids > Recapturing youth

Recapturing youth

Watching my kid hop his way through this sack race today, I thought about how often we wish we were young again.

As I write this post, I’m feeling the soreness from playing three softball games in a row this morning. I play about once a year, so I’m sure I’ll be feeling it for the next few days.

But this desire to recapture youth isn’t always about what we can or can’t do physically.

Think about the risks we’re afraid to take. Think about the safe routes we take in the name of adulthood and responsibility.

I wonder how much more we would accomplish if we occasionally treated life like a sack race.

 

Categories: Blogtober, Kids Tags:
  1. Brett
    October 9, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    Sometimes I get so wrapped up in being a parent for my kids, I forget what its like to be a kid.

    • October 10, 2010 at 10:35 am

      That’s it exactly, Brett. But maybe we can learn something from the kids.

  2. Zach
    October 10, 2010 at 6:56 am

    So, whereas the tagline for the movie Dodgeball is “grab life by the balls”, the epithet “hoist life by the sack” would more accurately apropos this blog? Lol

    • October 10, 2010 at 10:42 am

      Family show, Zach 😉

      Hey, whatever slogan it takes to motivate us!

  1. October 16, 2010 at 9:46 pm

Leave a Reply

